Mauritius Museums Council

The Mauritius Museums Council, a body corporate under the aegis of the Ministry of Arts and Culture, was established by the Mauritius Museums Council Act No. 3 of 2000 to replace the Mauritius Institute. The Mauritius Institute, founded in virtue of Ordinance No. 19 of 1880, functioned as a national scientific and cultural institution mainly dedicated to carrying out research and disseminating knowledge.

The Mauritius Museums Council has under its purview two National and five Specialised Museums.

National Museums:

    1. Natural History Museum, Port Louis
    2. National History Museum, Mahebourg

Specialised Museums:

    1. Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Memorial Centre for Culture, Port Louis
    2. Robert Edward Hart Memorial Museum, Souillac.
    3. Sookdeo Bissoondoyal Memorial Museum, Tyack
    4. Frederik Hendrik Museum, Old Grand Port
    5. Museum of Indian Immigration, Moka
    • Peopling of Mauritius Museum, Pointe Canon ( administered by MMC)
    • Millennium Monument Site, Wooton. ( admnistered by MMC)

The vision of the Mauritius Museums Council is:
To be a centre of excellence in the quest for and dissemination of knowledge on the collective memory and in the preservation of the national heritage of the people of the Republic of Mauritius and to be a source of inspiration for posterity.

To collect, preserve and use in a sustainable manner the Mauritian tangible and intangible heritage for the purpose of: increasing knowledge and understanding of; developing interest and pride in; and promoting appreciation and respect for the heritage throughout the Republic of Mauritius and internationally.

Skip to content